Fettling - what have you put off?

R_T_A
R_T_A Posts: 488
edited September 2010 in Commuting chat
So I finally decided to MTFU and do some "proper" work* on my bike over the bank holiday weekend, and sort out the bearings/cassette/axle of my commuter. I've been dreading it as I've never done it before, and I always manage to screw up even basic maintenance.

After buying a chain whip, cone spanners and cassette tool I resigned myself to spending hours figuring out what I'd ruined and then going to a LBS to laugh at my handiwork.

It all worked perfectly, and even being extra careful it took under an hour :shock:

I've now got to figure out the following bits:

- BB replacement
- Hydraulic brakes bleeding
- Wheel truing

What areas of maintenance are you putting off?
Giant Escape R1
FCN 8
"Build a man a fire, and he'll be warm for a day. Set a man on fire, and he'll be warm for the rest of his life."
- Terry Pratchett.

Comments

• davmaggs
    davmaggs Posts: 1,008
    Cleaning the chain. Used to be fairly good at doing it, but its been left for months (although commuting is less at the moment). However it sounds quiet so I'm tempted to sin, and leave it
  • I have a proper Bike shop under 5mins walk so I only do very basic stuff, brakes normally.
  • kelsen
    kelsen Posts: 2,003
    My rear brake pads. They're almost down to the brake shoes. My apathy is going to result in a screeching noise one day followed by a thin shaving of wheel rim being deposited all over the road!
  • gtvlusso
    gtvlusso Posts: 5,112
    All of it - run fixies now for the above reason!
  • notsoblue
    notsoblue Posts: 5,756
    The front suspension forks on my hybrid are getting pretty loose. Tbh, I have no clue how to sort it out so have been putting it off for a while. Will probably end up replacing them with lighter weight rigid forks. Just worried I might get a catastrophic failure the next time I bunnyhop over a pothole :S

Perhaps its a job I should get round to this weekend!