How to tell when carbide rims are worn out ?

swayzak
swayzak Posts: 38
edited September 2010 in Workshop
Hi

I have Grizzly carbide rims / Shimano Deore V-brake / Swissstop Bluesky pads combination on my Thorne Sterling.

I'm new to this - what sign should I look for to tell me the rims are wearing out ?

Also, is normal for the front wheel to judder when coming to halt in the rain ?

thanks

Comments

• Monty Dog
    Monty Dog Posts: 20,614
    When rims are nearly worn, they start taking a distinctive concave shape as the pressure from the tyre bead forces it outwards - you may experience irregular braking where the rim feels buckled although it is running straight. A close inspection is likely to reveal circumferential cracking around the brake track. You can also measure rim thickness with a micrometer or caliper - minimum thickness is often detailed on the makers tech docs. If you have one or more of the above suggest you look to replace the rim - when they go it can be sudden and catastrophic.
    Make mine an Italian, with Campagnolo on the side..
  • cougie
    cougie Posts: 22,512
    Rims should last 1000s of miles though - so its not an immediate worry. Some rims have wear indicators, and when they disappear - you've worn x mm off the rim and should replace. Not aware if yours has them though ?

Inspect the rims when you clean them. You may find cracks before the rims go.
  • swayzak
    swayzak Posts: 38
    Thanks both

These are only 4 or 5 months old - maybe done approx. 1000 miles. Will check for shape & cracks.

And (probably OT) the juddering of front wheel ?
  • Monty Dog
    Monty Dog Posts: 20,614