Cycling Club London

shanef365
shanef365 Posts: 4
edited September 2010 in Road beginners
Hi,

I'm a beginner road bike user and am moving to London in the next few weeks. I've been trying to find cycling clubs in the area, without much success!!

I'll be living fairly centrally, does anyone know of any cycling clubs in central london?

My level would be about 20 mile runs, at an average speed of about 15 mph.

I have a specialized allez sport, looking to possibly replace the seatpost with a carbon one.

Thanks!

Comments

• mrushton
    mrushton Posts: 5,182
    Have you googled London cycle clubs? Willesden are well known and are good audaxers,London Phoenix and of course London Dynamo but they can be a bit 'full-on'. Nice website tho' and they seem friendly but don't be fooled ;-)
    M.Rushton
  • I had, but you're right, all I could see was races and track competitions, and I thought maybe in the future, but not right now!!

I had to actually double check what Audaxing was, as I said, complete beginner lol!

Thank you!
  • jc4lab
    jc4lab Posts: 554
    I look on in envy at the London Cycling Campaign website and how active it is.compare to other cities..They cater for lower miles.whicjh i like too...Check out their runs list..Afraid the traditional CTC clubs I know do 60 miles + even on a B run...
    jc
  • weapons
    weapons Posts: 367
    shanef365 wrote:
    I had, but you're right, all I could see was races and track competitions, and I thought maybe in the future, but not right now!!

I had to actually double check what Audaxing was, as I said, complete beginner lol!

Thank you!

I don't think that is entirely representative of London Dynamo - 400 odd members but I'd say the vast majority of members don't race.

Turn up on Saturday morning in Richmond park for the club park ride and see what you think. There are groups for all abilities from the super quick through to relative beginners.
  • Have you checked out The Gregarios Superclub Ciclista?