female looking at getting into racing

amy_24
amy_24 Posts: 4
edited September 2010 in Amateur race
Hi,

I've been lurking and reading the boards for a while and thought would say hi and ask for some advice.

I have been cycling for about 6 months and looking at getting into the competitive side of racing. is it much different for a women, from what ive read I understand that women races aren't generally so long as men races. also can I only enter female based events? I have joined a cycling club in my area and have found the experience really helpful and have done a few time trials too. im looking at planning my training for the year but am clueless to what events i could enter. im also at college and planning to go uni the year after.

nice to meet you all:)

Comments

• hopper1
    hopper1 Posts: 4,389
    Hi Amy, and welcome to the forum.
    I think the best thing for you is to enquire about local events form within your club.
    I'm sure your club will be happy that they have a female member interested in racing.
    Good luck... :wink:
    Start with a budget, finish with a mortgage!
  • sungod
    sungod Posts: 16,551
    if you have a look on the bc website, it explains how things work and has listings of events

http://www.britishcycling.org.uk/road/a ... oad-Racing

afaik if you are over 18 you are a 'woman' in bc terms, and would be 4th category which is the entry level

you can search for events by category, area etc., there are some women-only ones

http://www.britishcycling.org.uk/events ... ,9,3,10,14

if you choose...
    discipline: 'road all'
    event/race classification: 'women only'
    rider category: '4th'
    ...it'l give a few matches, you'll get more if you loosen the criteria

for some you can just turn up and ride, but check the rules for the specific event

if you are interested. the rules for road are here...
    http://www.britishcycling.org.uk/zuvvi/ ... _TRACK.pdf