Derby Trails?

Twonk
Twonk Posts: 17
edited August 2010 in Routes
I'm moving to Derby in the not too distant future, so would love some ideas on where I can ride around and get muddy

I'm mainly looking for trails for exercising (maybe some XC later)

I've got no real knowledge of Derby itself (except from playing gigs there), so any directions would be much appreciated!

Cheers all

ps. I don't drive so Peaks are out for the time being

Comments

• Kiblams
    Kiblams Posts: 2,423
    Ouch, bad choice of City to move to if you can't drive to trails :( as the most you will find are national cycleways which are mostly paved. Sorry bud but you will need to find a friend who can drive if like me you live in the centre of Derby.
  • Twonk
    Damnit:\

Cheers for the info
  • bamba
    bamba Posts: 856
    there is some reasonable stuff to the north of the city, breadsall, coxbench, little eaton,
    some made up free ride stuff in drum hill woods, some call it morley woods.
  • Twonk
    Thanks. I'll try and get the directions and details via Google

I'll probably end up running the Route 66 orbital until I get more familiar with the place
  • As others have said, there is not a lot really in the city if you can't drive. The woods through Little Eaton arent too bad, Drum Hill is ok (you can combine a route from Little Eaton and Drum Hill). Allestree woods are ok but short.

Try this though. It starts at the back of Markeaton Park, takes you to the back of belper, milford and loops back to derby. I mapped this well known route out some time back on mapmyride when myself and an old friend used to do it. Its about 23 miles and a good workout.

Hob Hill is a good climb on the road and there is a nice bit of trail then a quick descent on Jacksons lane near milford towards the end of the ride. More XC than anything else. Not the best, but its something to keep you going.

http://www.mapmyride.com/ride/united-ki ... 8012318917
  • Twonk
    Lovely!

Thanks, throughthetrail :)