New Carrera Fury brake problem?

z1ppyuk
z1ppyuk Posts: 3
edited August 2010 in MTB beginners
Hi all

Let me start by saying I'm a total newbie and so know next to nothing about bikes. Today I have just picked up a new Carrera fury from Halfords as I want to get into cycling and attempting off road a bit later.

The problem I have is that upon getting the bike home I have noticed a scraping/rubbing sound coming from the rear brake system when the rear wheel spins. What concerns me is that the sound only happens for part of the rotation, possibly suggesting the disc is slightly warped?! I certainly hope not, but not knowing enough about the bike I thought it would be wise to get the opinions of those more knowledgeable! I will be going back tomorrow (Friday) but don't want to be fobbed off with a botch fix or anything.

Anyway, I'd be really grateful if anyone could shed some light on what may be wrong and what may need attention/fixing.

Andy

Comments

• nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    let the brakes bed in.

Ie go use but dont get them too hot for the first bit.
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
    Parktools :?:SheldonBrown
  • delta5
    delta5 Posts: 265
    Its common for rotors to get a bit warped - the gap to the pads is very small so even a slight bash can set them rubbing. Usually nothing to worry about, just fix it.

To solve it, find out where on the rotor it's scraping: