50 miler

DCowling
DCowling Posts: 769
edited August 2010 in The bottom bracket
Hi all
Just wanted to shout from the roof tops that I have just ( well yestrerday) done my first 50 mile bike ride.
I started riding in early June and have been steadily building up to this target and so I am chuffed.
I currently ride a full suspension MTB and managed my ride in 3hrs 45min which I thought was quite good.
I hope to get a road bike in the next couple of months so I can really go for it.
Sorry to bore you all but I am Really Really Chuffed

Dave :D:D

Comments

• desweller
    desweller Posts: 5,175
    Nice one mate! You're gonna fly on that roadie when you get it!
    - - - - - - - - - -
    On Strava.{/url}
  • tlw1
    tlw1 Posts: 21,873
    if you can do that on a FS mtb - you will be fast when you get a road bike
  • DCowling
    Thanks for the encouragement :D:D

in case any one is interested

http://www.bikely.com/maps/bike-path/first-50-miler

Iv'e re-posted this on the beginners page
  • freehub
    freehub Posts: 4,257
    Congrats, I was shouting from the rooftops when I did my first 12 miles let alone 50 :p

Don't get yer hopes up about a road bike making you go that much faster though, when I went from a Saracen MTB, to a road bike, I reckon it added only about 2mph on the flats.
  • DCowling
    edited August 2010
    freehub wrote:
    Congrats, I was shouting from the rooftops when I did my first 12 miles let alone 50 :p

Don't get yer hopes up about a road bike making you go that much faster though, when I went from a Saracen MTB, to a road bike, I reckon it added only about 2mph on the flats.

I hope it will be easier rather than faster on a roadbike, that is the theory anyway :?

But thankyou, I have to admit, it has taken a lot to get to the 50 and then It was determination ( and Lucozade) that got me through the final 8 miles.