Tubeless tyres and avoiding getting punctures HELP

The Tone™
The Tone™ Posts: 31
edited August 2010 in MTB beginners
Hi people,

I have tubeless Maxxis tyres but I am using an inner tube as that is how the bike came to me. Today I got a puncture from a thorn, I've fixed it but I want to prevent punctures in the future.

Would I be better of going tubeless (what's involved with that) or should I just get something like a slime lined inner tube?

Any help would be great, thank you.

Comments

• Alex ASD-1 disc rims

:)
  • peter413
    peter413 Posts: 5,120
    I think you will need a conversion kit to tubeless.

I don't like slime stuff, tried a few different ones and they either were to watery so didn't seal anything and just made a mess or really upset the balance of the bike ruining the handling
  • Changing the handling is what I'm worried about :(

I'm really new to all this tubeless stuff. I have no idea wheather it is a good or bad thing. If I go tubeless do I then HAVE to run a tubeless tyre?

It's all so confusing lol.
  • peter413
    peter413 Posts: 5,120
    You don't have to run a tubeless tyre but you do have to run sealant if you don't.

Stans sealent is ok though
  • Thanks Peter.

Is there a real advantage to going tubeless then, the kits are about £30 aren't they?
  • Tom Barton
    Tom Barton Posts: 516
    Tubeless tyres in themselves tend to be tougher - an extra layer of material in them to make them airtight helps - so they resist tears, snakebites, thorns etc a bit better than regular tyres. They are a bit heavier for it hoever this is kinda made up by not having the weight of inner tubes.