Sturdy bike recommendations

Don.
Don. Posts: 43
edited August 2010 in Commuting general
Hi guys,

Im kinda new to all this, and know very little about bikes makes \ models. I am starting to read up on it though...
Im looking to get a new bike for commuting in London (round trip 18-20miles per day).
It must be sturdy enough for me + backpack (+150kg)
If possible the tyres need to be fairly puncture resistent (I got two punctures on the way home last night.)
Are there high pressure inner tubes? My current tyres look flat when I get on the bike.
Id like to spend about £400 on the bike... more if I can get it through a ride to work \ other company scheme.

Id be greatful for any suggestions.

Thanks

Don

Comments

• sc999cs
    sc999cs Posts: 596
    For the distance you want a road bike but these often can't mount panniers - I wouldn't recommend a backpack for a 10 mile ride. Because of this a hybrid with 700c wheels might be worth considering (usually have narrower tyres so better rolling resistance and hence quicker). Have a look at this thread where a similar question is being considered.
    Steve C
  • snailracer
    snailracer Posts: 968
    The +150kg poster asks for a "sturdy" bike and gets recommended a road bike or a hybrid with 700c wheels :?
    At any given price point, a mountain bike will be stronger. One without suspension will be more reliable. The strength is mainly in the sturdier 26" wheels, as the frame on any type of bike is usually adequately strong for commuting.

A mountain bike frame will also have larger clearances for wider tyres, mudguards, etc. Wide tyres are better at avoiding snakebite punctures (ie bottoming out against the rim) than narrow ones, unless a heavyweight rider is diligent enough to top up a narrow tyre to 120psi every day.

A road bike/hybrid might be noticeably faster on paper, but in London, traffic and junctions will make the difference negligible over the distances mentioned.