tyres, rims and one badly frayed gear cable...

Alex-t
Alex-t Posts: 13
edited August 2012 in Road beginners
Hi all,
I am new to road biking and only got my bike this morning i only managed about 5 miles over to my mates house where i got a puncture on the stoned drive way. I was a bit gutted as now I couldn't get home :L but more gutted when i tried to take the wheel of the frame, i undid the quick release and it didnt come off... so after 5 minutes of struggling we got it off. Next came the tyre, taking that off proved to be near impossible almost snapping both tyre levers. when the tyre was off i noticed all of the holes drilled into the rim were... well, poor. one of which had a sharp jagged edge pointing up through the rim tape.. not good. :shock: then when i tried to refit the wheel i couldnt get it back on.... now i know i can understand if it a little difficult but the tyre actualy will not go back on... great.
oh and its a Coyote route 66 and i bought it from winstanleys bikes...
one question.. are the tyres supposed to be so difficult to remove and refit?

Comments

• Weejie54
    Weejie54 Posts: 750
    Some tyres are tighter than others (and some rims more troublesome). People have different techniques, but the underlying theory is that the part of the tyre that you have on the rim should be worked into the middle part of the inside of the rim. This is deeper than the edge and the tyre goes on easier due to the effectively smaller diameter rim. The leathery old cyclist brigade often used toe straps to secure tight tyres.

Many sources on the net to explain how to do it. This one is quite good:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-XUFVrl0UT4