New rider, new bike, new pedals

notesguru99
notesguru99 Posts: 5
edited August 2010 in MTB beginners
Hello everyone,

just joined this forum after getting back the buzz for biking! I'm only riding to work at the moment on my 12 year old claud butler :? but I really fancy some cross country riding and living in Lancashire gives me plenty of opportunities, Grisdale forrest looks a good starter!
Anyhow, I really would value your opinions on a few things...

I'm looking at upgrading to either a Focus killer bee ltd edition 2010 or a Kona Cinder Cone 2009 model of bike? If anyone has any experience or opinions of the 2 bikes I would really appreciate your input.

Also, I noticed that both bikes (from wiggle and paulscycles) either dont come with pedals or the pedals that are installed arent upto much. My old claud has toe clip pedals and I find it useful when riding uphill (I know I should concentrate on my power push down but I am an unfit newbie :wink: ). Can anyone recommend a decent set of pedals that would be in the range of either bike? And are they easy to fit yourself? My bike fixing skills only extend as far as punctures and chains!

Thanks in advance

Comments

• chedabob
    chedabob Posts: 1,133
    Pedals are dead easy to fit. You just need a pedal wrench to fit them, and one of them has a reversed thread which is a bit confusing.

If you found toe clips useful, SPDs might be a good option. Personally, they scare the living daylights out of me, but a lot of people have said they're good out on the trails. You can pick up the pedals (Shimano M520) for about £20, and shoes from £30+.

If you want flats, Wellgo V12s are highly rated.
  • Thanks for the quick response.

I've not actually considered stb pedals as I have no experience with anything other than my toe clips, but I see that the shimano pedals you mentioned are reasonably priced and after reading the blurb on spd I understand why they are better than a clip.

Thanks again.
  • Tartanyak