ITB pain - help wanted

macs
macs Posts: 209
edited September 2010 in Health, fitness & training
My ITB is hurting me on the bike during tough climbs. I have previously suffered from ITB pain but only when running. I had put this down to short hamstring muscles from 13 years of cycling and not much running, then when i jumped in at the deep end with my running it didn't like it. I haven't been running for a good 4 months or so and now the ITB is hurting when biking.

Is there an underlying issue that a chiropractor could sort out or do i just need some good stretches and if so which ones?

Comments

• Dr_Death
    Dr_Death Posts: 1,262
    Do you have clipless peddles?? Maladjusted cleats (too much toe-in) is a common cause as is pushing too big a gear on climbs and a low saddle. Try adjusting one of these at a time....
    Steve

Trust me, I'm a doctor!

http://www.vimeo.com/DrDeath
  • Had a similar problem when I first got my new bike - raised the saddle and did this stretch:

Sit squarely in an upright chair; Shin at 90 degrees to thigh when feet on floor
    Lift ankle (sore leg) onto other knee
    Press knee down and out while slooowly leaning forward - count to 15, 20, 25, 30 etc and release
    Repeat as required over a number of days to ease band down outside of thigh

Caution: If you lean forward too agressively you may pull a muscle just next to your spine just below where a trouser-belt sits.

This will be more uncomfortable than your thigh!

Finally if you google i band syndrome you will find an ebook for about £7.50 - I bought it and it helped me solve my problem,
  • mea00csf
    mea00csf Posts: 558
    Go to a good sports physio.