Week of touring in Sept - suggestions?

damitamit
damitamit Posts: 277
edited August 2010 in Tour & expedition
I've got some annual leave to take, so looking to do a week of touring in September. I've never done a fully loaded tour before (just short unloaded ones) so this will be my first. Thou I'm quite a keen roadie and have been riding for years.

Any suggestions for a week of touring (with camping)? Preferably in the UK, but don't mind going to Europe for better weather.

Yes, this is probably quite a vague question so I'm just looking for people's favourite idea of a week long tour :)

Thanks
Amit

Comments

• Rockall is probably nice that time of year

Jokes aside - I'd plump for Iceland - hotter climes I'd go for the Trans Andalus
    'since the flaming telly's been taken away, we don't even know if the Queen of Englands gone off with the dustman'.
    Lizzie Birdsworth, Episode 64, Prisoner Cell Block H.
  • thefonz78
    thefonz78 Posts: 148
    Lon Las Cymru. National cycle route 8. Holyhead to Cardiff 250 miles. The length of Wales. Through Snowdonia and Brecon mountain regions. Google it you will find lots of info including hostels to stay at on route. I'm getting myself fit to do it next summer.
  • pneumatic
    pneumatic Posts: 1,989
    There's a lot to be said for touring from your front door.

A bit of a challenge if your front door is in NW London, but not impossible. You could head for the Chilterns (Missenden, Tring, Whipsnade) then West in search of the Cotswolds, maybe take in the Welsh borders, forest of Dean, Bristol - Bath cycle way, Wiltshire, Henley and home.

You could plot nearly all of that on minor roads and you'll see things you never knew were there.

Just a thought.

Fast and Bulbous
    Peregrinations
    Eddingtons: 80 (Metric); 60 (Imperial)

• Big Wib
    Big Wib Posts: 363
    i'm (probably) doing the Pennine Cycleway at the start of September, so apologies if that's your week as it will probably be wet.