Charity Rides and Raising Sponsorship

Hi all,

I'm new to cycling and events. I did a 60 mile charity ride this weekend and loved it. I'm keen to do the Essex 100 and other various events coming up. However, I extracted sponsorship from family/friends/colleagues for yesterday's event and I doubt I'll get any more from them for the next couple of events, being so close together.

Do you all raise sponsorship for every charity event? Do you just pay the entry fee? Or do you pay the entry fee plus the minimum sponsorship target yourself (e.g. the Essex 100 is £25 entry + £25 min. sponsorship target)?

Don't get me wrong, I'm really keen to support charities as much as possible, but I'm concerned about not getting enough from people and not being able to afford to front it all myself, in which case I'll just do one or two events a year and do solo rides for the rest of the time.

I just ask as there seemed to be quite a few people at the event yesterday who just showed up, paid their entrance and did the ride.
Giant Rapid 3

Comments

• danowat
    danowat Posts: 2,877
    I've done plenty of charity events (both running and cycling) where I've just paid the entry fee and chucked a little of my own money in the pot for the charity, I've only ever asked for sponsership once, and its not something I'd do again, unless it was for something worthy (IMO) like Lejog or something.

I wouldn't enter an event with a minimum sponser target personally though.

If you want to pay the entry fee, turn up and ride, do it, no need to feel bad about it IMO.

Edit, I was going to do the Essex 100, but was put off by the minimum sponsership thing.
  • pdstsp
    pdstsp Posts: 1,264