Anyone any experience of The Exmoor Beast?

Nasawing
Nasawing Posts: 14
Hello all - first post from me!

I've got a friend who's trying to convince me to join him on The Exmore Beast ( www.exmoorbeast.org ), so as a relative newb, I wanted to get some advice from anyone who's ridden this before - or is planning to go this year. I understand that its a toughie and one of the more demanding sportives... Whats the gen?

NaSa[/url]

Comments

• Nasawing
    PS - would have helped if I'd spelled it 'Exmoor' not Exmore, huh?! :? <whattatwonk>
  • popette
    popette Posts: 2,089
    Hiya,
    rode it last two years - here's my write up of 2009 if you're interested.
    If you can't be bothered reading all that - tough but eventually enjoyable is the ultra high level summary. Do it!

http://2010etape.blogspot.com/2009/11/r ... beast.html
    :)
  • what was demanding last year was the weather -- 50 mph gale force winds and sleet. there is a very long thread on here in the archives about the 2009 ride. the shorter route is def doable for a newbie; there is really only one steep bit and that is near the beginning.
  • Nasawing
    Thanks for the responses ladies - I'm now registered and gearing up (see what I did there?!) for my first taste of a sportive... And tbh, I'm now starting to brick it. I'm going to take your sensible advice and opt for the shorter route (I'll try for a little bit of glory rather than risk a side helping of exhaustion on my first outing!)

Any other advice / top tips for a nervous newb? Someone's already mentioned the climbs to me and the importance of considering some lower ratios!

I've read on some of the other threads about other events on not relying too heavily feed stops, so I'm gonna make sure I have well loaded pockets, though all the comments to date seem to indicate that The Beast is very well organised (as might be expected, as according to their site, the organisers are ex Royal Marines !)

:)