Early fuel foods

Ph!l_GeeWhizz
Ph!l_GeeWhizz Posts: 28
edited August 2010 in Commuting general
Howdoo all. Now let me start by saying i'm no pro cyclist, just someone who still enjoys riding his 20 year old bike for fun and fitness. I decided to ride part of the journey to work the other day (12 miles round trip) rather than the full 26 miles but ran into a problem with feeling like crap when i got to work. I'd had breakfast before i left the house but it obviously wasnt good enough because once i'd eaten more at work i felt so much better and the ride home was no problem.
So my question is to you guys, what do you eat before your commute to work to stop the hunger pangs?
Phil .

Comments

• asprilla
    asprilla Posts: 8,440
    I have a granola bar or a banana and a glass of fruit juice before I leave. I then have a proper breakfast when I get to work.

If I ate any more then I'd fell terrible on the bike and probably get indigestion.

If you can eat a proper breakfast then you want simple and complex carbs for quick and medium term energy. Porridge with honey and some fruit juice would be your best bet.
    Mud - Genesis Vapour CCX
    Race - Fuji Norcom Straight
    Sun - Cervelo R3
    Winter / Commute - Dolan ADX
  • Norky
    Norky Posts: 276
    edited August 2010
    No doubt I wont be the only one to say this: porridge. Oats are great riding fuel, see this article on the matter and also this forum posting about porridge and alternatives.

This is a 6 mile trip into work in the morning? No doubt you'll have ridden much greater distances (for non-commuting reasons), so I'm surprised you had a problem. Did you (do you normally) eat a small breakfast?
    The above is a post in a forum on the Intertubes, and should be taken with the appropriate amount of seriousness.
  • prj45
    prj45 Posts: 2,208
    Very rarely anything.

I might have a bananna before I leave the house.

After my 14 mile ride in I have breakfast at work (porridge or sausage roll).