New Bike, New To Road Biking

CaseyJ70
CaseyJ70 Posts: 6
edited July 2010 in Road beginners
Hey all,

After looking for a road bike for a while and getting sized at a local shop, I ended up buying a bike off a local biker. It's a 2004 (I think) Cannondale R800 54cm. He had won the bike and never ridden it. Now, please don't flame me as I'm very new to cycling and trying to learn the basics before I join a club in hope of learning more. I'm just wondering what everyone's thoughts are on the bike. I bought it for $500 CAD. I'm hoping it is worth that amount?

Also, what accessories would someone recommend to a new cyclist? Also, are there any things that someone would recommend me doing to the bike? I've heard road bikers usually take off the reflectors/piece of plastic by the rear cogs? Also, I bought that blackburn hand pump, but it seems too large. Are there other alternatives? The bike also had a sigma sport computer on it but I'm thinking of changing it over to a wireless one. Any thoughts? Finally, I've ridden it a few times and am starting to get used to riding clipless. However, I'm not a fan of the current pedals it came with. I've heard many good things about the Look Keo Max 2? Would it be worth it to put a pair of these pedals on the bike or is that overspending?

Any help you guys could offer me would be greatly appreciated. Thanks so much in advance.

BTW - Here's a pic of the bike.

http://img194.imageshack.us/img194/2955/dsc00699cy.jpg

Comments

• Flasheart
    Flasheart Posts: 1,278
    Just saw your post. Can't elaborate on anything at the moment as I have to go to work. A decent pair of cycling shorts will make life more comfortable. Reflectors and "dork disc" should go as you say. Carry a minipump on your frame or the back of your jersey pocket as well as a spare tube and some patches.

Most of all....we're CYCLISTS!!! ..not bikers matey :wink: