Pain in my fingers (newbie)

jackricho
jackricho Posts: 190
edited July 2010 in MTB general
Hi,
I was riding hope valley yesterday and my finger was really hurting when i was riding down the rocky path. Is the because im new to riding and need to get use to this????

Thanks

Comments

• asquithea
    asquithea Posts: 145
    Are you wearing gloves? Highly recommended to avoid scratches and bruising.
  • Braking finger? The obvious thing would be to check that the levers are positioned so that you can reach them comfortably. Bikes don't always come perfectly set up out of the shop.

If you're new to something though, a few pains can be expected. I used to be very active, skating and riding mostly. In recent years though, I've found myself working in an office and not doing a great deal outside of that. Decided to get back on a board after about a year out and found that after 10 mins my back would be so pumped up (like your arms get after an hour of lifting weights) that I could barely walk normal. Never mind skate. I was getting the same thing doing any activity where you're bent over (no jokes..). Fixing the car for example! Few weeks skating and it's fine now.

Similarly, getting back into riding I found my wrists weren't strong enough. I'd often hurt them (only mildly) pulling up the front end and going off the smallest of drops. Again, that cleared up over time, riding the same bike.
  • jackricho
    jackricho Posts: 190
    Hi
    Im riding with glove. my friend has just suggesred to lower the seat before going down down? just to keep the weight of my hands?
  • mr joey
    mr joey Posts: 427
    probally is braking finger i got it in france 2 years ago and still suffer with it now :(
  • bunyip
    bunyip Posts: 52