Bike set-up for complete novice with not a clue...

adethecat
adethecat Posts: 2
edited July 2010 in MTB beginners
Hi,
I managed to snaffle a Cannondale F4 Z 2009 brand new off of ebay for a competative price.... but haven't a clue how to set it up!
I put the seat up a bit and thats about it. Mainly use it on road but am getting bad butt pain and also numbish hands after a couple of hours and an aching neck.
Any advice greatfully recieved !
Ade

Comments

• x-isle
    x-isle Posts: 794
    Welcome Ade,

To me, it sounds as though you might be a bit over perched on the bike.

The tell tale sign is the numbish hands as they maybe supporting to much of your body weight.

I had this problem when I bought a Scott Scale which is designed as an all out cross country speed machine. To achieve this, the frame angles made the rider perched which didn't suit me, therefore I changed the stem to a shorter and higher one along with riser bars to adjust my body position.

Another cause could be that your saddle is too far forward (or possibly too far back), but first get the height correct.

Best way to get the seat height correct is to put the pedal at it's lowest position sit on the bike in the riding position (get someone to support you) and when your heal is on the pedal, your leg should be almost straight. If you are stretching to position your heal, then it's too high, if your leg is too bent, then it's too low and you won't get the full power of your thighs through the crank.

Once the height is sorted, adjust your saddle so that when the pedal is in the forward position (so both pedals are level, one back, one forward), your knee cap should intercept the line of the spindle of the pedal. This is just a rough setting to start with.

Give that a go and if you find you are still perched over the bars, you may have to invest in a different handlebar stem and/or riser bars.