Would Wiggins have done better with Garmin?

donrhummy
donrhummy Posts: 2,329
edited July 2010 in Pro race
A lot of people said no, but Brailsford's comments seem to lend some credence to that idea:
"You can plan as much as you like but there is nothing like doing this race and then going back and reflecting on what you didn't know and learning from it. Even after two weeks, I'm not afraid to say there's a lot we didn't know," he said.

"I'm a novice at this race but I've got a smart group of people around me who learn really quick. Would we change the way we approach things? How we get the best out of people? Certainly not. It's like the Olympics Games, the first one blows you away but by the time you've done three or four, you just take it on. I guess it's the same here. You have to do the hours and we're doing them.

Garmin/Vaughters have a LOT of experience with TDFs, whether through Garmin's participation or that of Garmin's leaders previously (e.g. Vaughters rode the TDf himself). I think that experience would have led to a diff. outcome for Wiggins. I'm nto saying he'd have been 4th again, but perhaps he'd be top 10.

Comments

• Steve2020
    Steve2020 Posts: 133
    Not wearing a black kit would have helped.
  • giant_man
    giant_man Posts: 6,878
    2 million on this loser? Complete waste of money imo. For that kind of money he should be in the top ten come Sunday, at least. That and his cavalier attitude to it all .......
  • iainf72
    iainf72 Posts: 15,784
    History is littered with the bodies of those who did a good performance once and never repeated it in the Tour. I remember last year I did a thread of people who've finished 4'th and never bettered it.

Sky are a fairly weak team for a Grand Tour contendor. But I don't believe Wiggins is that guy - If you had a stronger team he'd be in the same position.