Newbie help needed

Fifty
Fifty Posts: 3
edited July 2010 in Commuting chat
Hi,

Newbie here, after some help.

Having not owned a bike for around 15 years, I've decided that my fitness levels need a bit of help so I want to start commuting to work (a 6 mile round trip). Mostly on roads, and maybe a bit of cycling at weekends - again mainly on roads.

Dont have a huge budget, but saw a Giant Rincon in my local cycle shop for £300. I've subsequently found it for £240 delivered online from a retailer who's name currently escapes me.

Question is - is this bike any good? What do I need to be on the lookout for - suspension, certain wheels, disk brakes etc?

Thanks for your time, and help.

Comments

• rjsterry
    rjsterry Posts: 29,411
    I'll be the first to jump in and say that yo shouldn't really need suspension for commuting unless you are going cross country. It's just extra weight and maintenance for very little benefit when riding on the road. On the other hand, I hear disc brakes are very good for a commuter bike, especially in the winter/wet days. Rim brakes (V, cantis or normal 'road' brakes) are fine though for most things, but if you are doing a lot of winter miles, the pads will wear out fairly quickly and the wheel rims will wear as well.
    1985 Mercian King of Mercia - work in progress (Hah! Who am I kidding?)
    Pinnacle Monzonite

Part of the anti-growth coalition
  • davis
    davis Posts: 2,506
    I wouldn't go for suspension if you're only using it on the road. The manufacturer will have to scrimp elsewhere in order to give you suspension, and you just don't need it for roads (in fact it'll slow you down). I probably wouldn't go for disk brakes either, because I don't think they can be particularly good quality at that price (not sure though).