Which fixed/SS...complete newbie!

the_big_gun
the_big_gun Posts: 25
edited August 2010 in Road general
I think i want to get a SS on the bike to work scheme.

I've been riding for years, but have just changed jobs and now have a 20mile commute in each direction and really don't want to smash up my racing machine on a daily commute.

The ride is mainly on undulating country roads, with a couple of little lumps on it and I've ridden it on my current bike without changing gear at all, so i know i can manage it on a single speed.

Basically, i don't know which bike to get as it seems damn near impossible to find a shop to test ride any of the ones i like!!

My main choices are these:
- Giant Bowery '72 2010
- Felt Dispatch 2010 (prefer the white of the 2009, but it's discontinued and i need new for B2W)
- Charge Plug Racer 2010 (although i hear this is heavy...?)
- Pinarello Lungavita 2010

If anyone has any advice/experience on these i'd really appreciate cos i'm just so unlikely to be able to test ride them!!

Many thanks.

Comments

• stickman
    stickman Posts: 791
    Get the one you like the look of best. I haven't ridden any of them but i'd get the Charge because that's the one I like. I wouldn't want a mechanically perfect bike that didn't look nice.
    Bikes, saddles and stuff

http://www.flickr.com/photos/21720915@N03/
    More stuff:
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/65587945@N00/

Gears - Obscuring the goodness of singlespeed
  • Yea maybe i'm thinking about it too much. :?
  • TommyEss
    TommyEss Posts: 1,855
    The Charge is pretty chunky - do you want any other features that will help with your commute - like rack and mudguards? 20 miles each way with your work gear and a rucksack will be a right PIN!

If so, look very closely at the Pompino - easy enough to whack a ss freewheel on.
    Cannondale Synapse 105, Giant Defy 3, Giant Omnium, Giant Trance X2, EMC R1.0, Ridgeback Platinum, On One Il Pompino...
  • Xiphon
    Xiphon Posts: 47