Dawes Galaxy '97 - Renovation Project

MattHybrid
MattHybrid Posts: 27
edited July 2010 in Tour & expedition
Hi,

I picked up a Dawes Galaxy '97 last night (Pics to follow!). It's a 12 speed which seems unusual, with a 6 speed cassette and Sora mech. The chainring is a Shimano Biopace.

It cost me £100 which I figured I could easily recoup if I find I can't do anything with it, but I purchased it with a view to doing some touring. I'm no expert, would it be too big a task to get it all in good condition or could this cost me a fortune?

I just need the brakes and gears to function basically and have it so the wheels don't fall off! In other words I want a cheap tourer, not something to put in a glass case. Currently the gears jump everwhere and the brakes have seen better days. Going to wipe it all down tonight and have a tinker, but I can see it needing new parts.

Cheers,

Matt

Comments

• Weejie54
    Weejie54 Posts: 750
    Obviously, the Sora mech is later than the bike. Does it have cantilever brakes?
    You'll know more once you've 'tinkered' and possibly cleaned things up. I'd be thinking about replacing the chainset for a triple (and losing the Biopace) - is it a proper cassette or a screw on freewheel?
  • MattHybrid
    Hi Weejie,

It has crappy looking 'Cantisafe' brakes at the back which are buggered (a funny shaped screw threaded itself when I was trying to adjust them), and the front has a cherry centre pull which I've now cleaned up and readjusted.

I've stripped down the hub on the front wheel, cleaned it up and put fresh lube in. So the front of the bike is all good.

The gears at the back look shoddy, what looks like a more modern snimano 6 speed cassette mixed with that Sora mech. There are also a bunch or washers shoved to the left of the wheel, presumably due to the smaller 6 speed cassette which I'd guess was also retrofitted. Definitely going to need looking at.