So where should I go on me holidays? Long weekend...

Northwind
Northwind Posts: 14,675
edited July 2010 in MTB general
OK so... Got next week off and nothing much to do with it from thursday onwards. Got a car, a tent, 2 bikes, no mates and a small-ish budget, and starting in Edinburgh. Where should I go?

Tempted just to head up to nevis range for 2 days and do the ciaran path... Or Ae Mabie and either Drumlanrig or Kirroughtree... Or how about Laggan and Moray and Balblair and Learnie?

I'd say southwards but I'm a fairly new driver so I don't fancy going all the way into wales solo, plus I think we're planning a week or long weekend there in september. Likewise yorkshire,probably further than I want to do this time. Lakes?
Uncompromising extremist

Comments

• Greig M
    Greig M Posts: 86
    Here What you Want.

Head Up to Nevis Range early friday morning.
    Pitch your tent at
    http://www.outdoorcapital.co.uk/member- ... asp?id=223
    Not exactly sure where this is it could be near the trails, it would be worth checking you

Buy the 2 consecutive day gondola pass £54 (or buy the one day pass explore the hills on the friday and get the whole saturday riding)

Leave the camp site on the Sunday morning.

Head down to Laggan Wolftrax spend the day doing whatever shannagins on the trails.

ABout a forty minute drive from the tracks is
    Loch Morlich Camp Site. Which has a Loch (obvioustly) it also has good cycle paths and a nice beach, Although its camping. 2 shower and toilet blocks, One male one female.

Head back to edinburg on the monday morning.

Just a suggestion

Thanks
  • Northwind
    Sounds great... It's quite a lot like a weekend away we did last month though :lol: Still very tempting, I could easily spend another day on the uplift but at the same time I'm missing other boxes on my trailcentre bingo card...
    Uncompromising extremist
  • ilovedirt
    ilovedirt Posts: 5,798