Saddle sore

secretsam
secretsam Posts: 5,120
edited August 2015 in Commuting chat
Now, I know there was a post from a laydee on here complaining about pain in her "punani" or whatever. I don't f$ck around when it comes to sorting out things with my body so here's a health warning: I'm going to use correct anatomical terms. Look away now if that's likely to offend...

I went for a rare, short ride for the hell of it at the weekend, and it was ace but did it in normal short avec grundies underneath. Am now regretting that choice as I have horrid saddle sores on the joint betwixt top of leg and perineal region, and although I've used proper cycling shorts avec padded nappy (commando stylee) this week, am still sore. Have also nicked some of the kids' Sudocrem which has helped a bit but am still in some discomfort.

Any suggestions on a) prevention and b) cure?? Feel free to be graphic in replies, I work in the healthcare industry so I understand basic human anatomy type stuff.

BTW, yes I am a clean sort of person.

It's just a hill. Get over it.

Comments

• Kieran_Burns
    Kieran_Burns Posts: 9,757
    I've always used talc when things get sore 'tween the legs - that and wearing boxers for a few days.

Keeping things dry really seems to help
    Chunky Cyclists need your love too! :-)
    2009 Specialized Tricross Sport
    2011 Trek Madone 4.5
    2012 Felt F65X
    Proud CX Pervert and quiet roadie. 12 mile commuter
  • kelsen
    kelsen Posts: 2,003
    Mouldy bread...
  • rjsterry
    rjsterry Posts: 29,084
    Salt bath? Unfortunately, riding on it is probably not going to help it heal. Could you stand a day or two off the bike to get it on going in the right direction? If not, don't hang around in sweaty gear - wash and change ASAP after each ride.
    1985 Mercian King of Mercia - work in progress (Hah! Who am I kidding?)
    Pinnacle Monzonite

Part of the anti-growth coalition
  • symo
    symo Posts: 1,743