Dealing with the long ones

BigJimmyB
BigJimmyB Posts: 1,302
edited July 2010 in Road beginners
Hi All,

I'm not a beginner roady as such, I ride a hybrid for fitness to help me do better in MTB.

Before you tell me to f-off out of your part of the forum, I have a serious question to ask which I'm sure some of you guys can help with.

Our current training consists of doing approx 20 miles, as quickly as poss - we normally do it in an hour.

I'd like to do longer rides (40-60 miles), albeit at a slightly slower pace (initially at least) but one thing I really, really struggle with is boredom.

Whilst the terrain etc in MTB changes frequently, and you have to vary your approach*, I find road riding pretty 'sameish' and struggle to stay motivated long enough to want to cover bigger distances.

Any help/advice?

*I mean no offence by this as I'm sure it's the same for road riding, but would really appreciate some insight/experience on this one.

Thanks in advance

BJB

Comments

• danowat
    danowat Posts: 2,877
    Its rarely an issue for me, I can quite easily just switch my brain off and ride.

If I do get restless mentally, I do some mental calcs about the ride, like how long it should take me to get home, or try and work out some splits, either that or play games like trying to hit negative mile splits, or do intervals.

Failing that, I am lucky enough to have some very nice surroundings, so its easy to just enjoy the scenery.

My worklife is quite mentally demanding, so just being able to turn off is something of a luxury.
  • daviesee
    daviesee Posts: 6,386
    I find cars and lorries occasionally resharpen my focus for me :evil:

I don't have time in normal life to get bored so escaping on the bike gives my brain a rest 8)
    None of the above should be taken seriously, and certainly not personally.
  • Pick a nice route in the country side, make sure it has some gradient, ride with a friend or other forum member looking to do a circuit.