My first Enduro - TORQ 12:12

LukeHurst
LukeHurst Posts: 93
edited August 2010 in XC and Enduro
Hi,

I just thought I'd share that I've just put my entry in as a team of 3 to take part in the TORQ 12:12 12-hour Enduro on 29th August. It will be first Enduro and is likely to be my 3rd ever MTB event!!

I've been racing road bikes for 13 years to quite a good standard (well certainly during the early years) and I am still racing 2-3 times a week on the road at the moment. I've been on a training camp to Majorca this year and I have excellent fitness at the moment.

Now the challenge.....I only purchased my MTB 2 months ago having never really ridden off road before apart from a cyclo-x race a couple of years ago. I did my first MTB race at Thetford forest 3 weeks ago and finished 41st out of 120ish so I know I can be competitive to certain extent.

I'll be riding the event with a very experienced MTB racer and also a mate who has never raced but rides off road a lot, so I should be somewhere in the middle hopefully I've got quite a few tough E/1/2/3 road races plus another MTB race coming up before the Enduro, so hopefully I'll have a good level of endurance to carry me into the Enduro.

Any tips/advice and words of encouragement would be appreciated.

Luke.

Comments

• njee20
    njee20 Posts: 9,613
    Just enjoy yourself, it's a good event, on a great course. The first year it was insanely wet and generally a bit miserable, last year it was really dry and dusty, and good fun!

If you keep going for 12 hours with no mechanicals you'll do absolutely fine. The course isn't technical, there's nothing to catch you out.
  • willhart
    willhart Posts: 41
    My training partner and I are planning to enter the 12:12 too. We are doing our first 4hr solo race this weekend and then deciding which catagory to enter.

We were going to enter as a pair, but we are both a bit sadistic and now were slowly talking each other into doing it Solo!