Are Crank Bros Egg Beaters Any Good.

Mark Elvin
Mark Elvin Posts: 997
edited June 2010 in Commuting chat
I currently used Shimano SPD pedals, but I like the look of the Egg Beater SL pedals.

Has anybody here used both & if so what pedals did you prefer?
2012 Cannondale Synapse

Comments

• tiny_pens
    tiny_pens Posts: 293
    I have been using egg beaters for the last 4 years now. I like them a lot. Easy to clip in and out (although there is a breaking in period where the cleat gets worn down a bit).

I find the same bad points as everyone else really:-

- Not comfortable to ride in regular shoes but fine for just down to the shops. If this is an issue then buy a pedal spanner and change them over, it only takes a minute.

- Some wear to the bottom of my shoes due to clip in mechanism but I think my shoes will wear out before this becomes a problem.

I have mtb shoes with a reasonable thick sole so I don't find any problems with the small platform area - that said I have never bothered riding more than 70 miles in one go.

HTH
  • Mark Elvin
    tiny_pens wrote:

- Some wear to the bottom of my shoes due to clip in mechanism but I think my shoes will wear out before this becomes a problem.

Thanks, I'll get some of the wear plates for the bottom of the shoe, that'l sort that one!!
    2012 Cannondale Synapse
  • dondare
    dondare Posts: 2,113
    I switched from Time Atac to eggbeaters and found that I could use the same cleats perfectly.
    The eggbeaters are good. I would certainly recommend them.
    This post contains traces of nuts.
  • Anonymous
    Anonymous Posts: 79,667
    I switched from SPDs like you to Egg beaters.

Advantages -

- Lighter,

- Look better,

- Don't clog up with mud,

- Hold the cleat more securely,

- 4 sided entry makes clipping in very easy (once you get used to it, it's a different action to SPDs).