What to read?

Peter_K
Peter_K Posts: 193
edited July 2010 in Pro race
I'm new to cycling and would like to learn more about the history of the sport. Are there any books that you would recommend me to read that would help me improve my basic knowledge.

Comments

• RichN95.
    RichN95. Posts: 27,157
    I'd recommend the Yellow Jersey Companion to the Tour de France. It's done an encyclopedia style format so you can easily dip in and out of it (excellent 'toilet book').

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Yellow-Jersey-Companion-Tour-France/dp/0224080164/ref=sr_1_fkmr0_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1277737914&sr=8-1-fkmr0
    Twitter: @RichN95
  • Bronzie
    Bronzie Posts: 4,927
    Depends how far back you want to go and whether you want "warts'n'all" or a more romanticised version.

A good one for the very early history of cycle racing (America 1880s) is "Major" by Todd Balf which covers the life of the legendary black track racer Marshall "Major" Taylor who had to fight prejudice as well as his opponents.
  • calvjones
    calvjones Posts: 3,850
    Fallen Angel

Tomorrow we Ride

Breaking the Chain

The Rider

The tour is won on Alpe d'Huez (?)

Should keep you going!

Strava is not Zen.
  • If you are looking for biographys to read in the future,
    "In search of Robert Millar" is the best cycling biography by far in my opinion.
    “To understand me, you have to meet me and be around me. And then only if I'm in a good mood - don't meet me in a bad mood.”
  • Thick Tester
    Thick Tester Posts: 380
    The Lancet
  • cogidubnus
    cogidubnus Posts: 860
    Death of Marco Pantani - One of the Icons of the sport

Bad Blood A look at the modern peloton and as the name suggests doping. A really good read

Put me back on My Bike - Greatest British Cyclist and a great read

Fallen Angel, the Passion of Fausto Coppi Just started this one, about the Italian legend

Treasures of the Tour de France - Great collection from the history and archives of the tour