leaving bike locks out in town overnight

kieranb
kieranb Posts: 1,674
edited June 2010 in Commuting chat
Just wondering what people's experiences are of leaving their heavy locks locked to bike stands in public overnight in cities is like? I am wondering about leaving my lock at my usual bike stand instead of carrying it home with me every night, just to bring it in again in the morning. Do the locks get vandalised?

Comments

• El Capitano
    El Capitano Posts: 6,401
    I've heard of them having super-glue put inside the locking mechanism to render them useless - you can't get the key in.
  • el_presidente
    el_presidente Posts: 1,963
    I've been leaving mine every night for 3 years, and weekends, never had a problem. It is a private set of railings and not a bike stand though
    <a>road</a>
  • WesternWay
    WesternWay Posts: 564
    kieranb wrote:
    Just wondering what people's experiences are of leaving their heavy locks locked to bike stands in public overnight in cities is like? I am wondering about leaving my lock at my usual bike stand instead of carrying it home with me every night, just to bring it in again in the morning. Do the locks get vandalised?

I leave mine in London.

The only issue I have add is that the lock needed a bit of TLC last winter.
  • lardboy
    lardboy Posts: 343
    I used to leave my locks attached to the railings at Oxford Circus, before they got rid of them in favour of no additional bike racks (cheers, Boris). Never had a problem with the locks, especially as I tried to keep the locks hanging from the top, keyholes pointed down so minimized the water into the mechanism. A drop of 3-in-1 every week or so should keep them nice and smooth.
    Bike/Train commuter: Brompton S2L - "Machete"
    12mile each way commuter: '11 Boardman CX with guards and rack
    For fun: '11 Wilier La Triestina
    SS: '07 Kona Smoke with yellow bits
  • rb1956
    rb1956 Posts: 134
    kieranb wrote: