Panniers on a fixed?

dhope
dhope Posts: 6,699
edited June 2010 in Commuting chat
I know, the very thought of it is abhorrent to the purists.

I'm about to start a fairly short commute to work (7 miles) and will have a few bits to take - gym kit and a few folded shirts (that'll be in an Eagle Creek folder so should stay flat).
I have a fixed Langster and curious on people's thoughts on whether I should get a decent messenger bag, a backpack or panniers.

I'm still a novice so no skip stops or skidding in the wet just yet. Will panniers affect the handling of a fixie more than they might a single speed or hybrid or would the weight shifted further down rather than on my back not really make much difference? Or should I just not have panniers on a fixed and instead get a couple of spoke cards and embrace my inner fakenger?

Ta
Rose Xeon CW Disc
CAAD12 Disc
Condor Tempo

Comments

• lost_in_thought
    lost_in_thought Posts: 10,563
    Ah get some panniers. Why the heck not. You only get the one spine.

I've got them on my fixie, and I'll have them of the new fixie too. There's no difference between a fixie with panniers and any other bike with panniers.

Skip stops? Skids? Are you 13?
  • asprilla
    asprilla Posts: 8,440
    I have panniers on my fixed. Mine is not a tarty fixed that comes with tight jeans, spinny gearing and floppy hair. It's a functional fixed with a rack, sensible brakes and mudguards.
    Mud - Genesis Vapour CCX
    Race - Fuji Norcom Straight
    Sun - Cervelo R3
    Winter / Commute - Dolan ADX
  • dhope
    Skip stops? Skids? Are you 13?
    Was a bit tongue in cheek, as was the embracing my inner fakenger :)
    Rose Xeon CW Disc
    CAAD12 Disc
    Condor Tempo
  • dhope
    Asprilla wrote:
    I have panniers on my fixed. Mine is not a tarty fixed that comes with tight jeans, spinny gearing and floppy hair. It's a functional fixed with a rack, sensible brakes and mudguards.