Dave Lloyd Mega Challenge

benji90
benji90 Posts: 114
I am doing the Dave Lloyd Mega Challenge on Sunday (20th June) and am amazed to see that there are barely 200 people signed up!

I know that they had capacity to deal with 10 times that many, so why the poor take up?

Were people put off by the route or the price?

Just wondering as its always nice to do an event with a more people as it gives a better atmosphere. IMHO.

Comments

• brucey72
    brucey72 Posts: 1,086
    I did it last year and was very disappointed with the event for the money that I paid (poor signage was my main gripe having taken a 7 mile detour). My money is far tighter this year and in my opinion there are much better value for money events available such as the Richmond 5 Dale and Ryedale Rumble.
  • benji90
    Its my first time doing it - lets hope they have learned from their mistakes last year as my sense of direction is appalling!!
  • dodgy
    dodgy Posts: 2,890
    I'm a fairly fit rider, not one of the fastest, but I'm happy with the level I can ride it. But the DLMC is just too brutish for me, some of these sportives now are being custom designed for climbers. That's all well and good, but there are lots of riders while still wanting a challenge, would prefer a slightly flatter route. Besides, the whole sportive movement is lost on me, the people I know who do them regularly are comparative newcomers to the sport and I wonder if in a few years time there'll be less Sportives when riders realise they can get a group of mates together and ride these routes at their own pace whenever they want, for free.

There, I said it - I'm not a climber :lol:
  • Papapete
    Papapete Posts: 133
    I was also wondering the same thing. Why so few people?

I am signed up and have been for a while, but upon looking at the meters to be climbed and the distance again, and then again, it looks a beast.