London cycling tips

124»

Comments

• Butterd2
    Butterd2 Posts: 937
    BR 1979 wrote:
    :lol:

Well, if someone says it to you one morning along the Embankment then you'll know who it is.

(PS - Don't get so wound up - If you don't like to be thought of as one, then don't act like one. Stop at the reds. ;))

Don't go down that way unfortunately 'cos I'd love to meet you one day.

BTW The "B" doesn't stand for Brian does it by any chance, you sound like a Brian?
    Scott CR-1 (FCN 4)
    Pace RC200 FG Conversion (FCN 5)
    Giant Trance X

My collection of Cols
  • jonny_trousers
    jonny_trousers Posts: 3,588
    Butterd2 wrote:
    Common argument this one but I'm also a car driver (funnily enough a sensible one at that) but whenever I see another driver doing something stupid I don't worry that every ped/cyclist is going to think I too am stupid, I also a ped sometimes and the same applies. So sorry but I don't buy it.

I have to say, I agree with this point. I've never accepted the argument that I often read here that says by RLJing you are bringing the cycling community into disrepute. Let's face it, there are plenty of people out there who think cyclists shouldn't be allowed on the roads no matter how law abiding they are. Sure, the argument would then be, well if everyone rode responsibly then that perception might change, but would it? It's the feeling that cyclists are slowing the motorist up that bothers most with that attitude (even though the reality is that their journey would be no quicker on a cycle-free road).

I too am a motorist and when out in my car I can easily spot those cyclists who ride intelligently and safely and that does not necessarily mean that they never RLJ. The bad riders will often RLJ, but that does not mean that those who occasionally RLJ are necessarily bad riders.