Silly Commuter CX Adventures

itboffin
itboffin Posts: 20,064
edited June 2010 in Commuting chat
It's a lovely day here in Windshire but as the name implies very windy, so I thought I'd dust off the CX and go for a spin in the brail.
738168_8003d1fd.jpg

It was all going so well, first I bombed down my local pave trail, sweeeet 8)
4705535627_18e6124fb6.jpg

Then along the Kennet & Avon canal tow path
4639360095_05e66f4ea5.jpg

Across a small bridge then I hopped over a step and crunch
488462076_85dc550064.jpg

Now i'm no expert but i'm pretty sure a rear derailleur shouldn't look like that :lol:
4706191128_44833db956.jpg

So that little 2.5 mile ride has cost me

Bent new KMC chain
Bent spoke, which will need replacing and truing
Completely farked rear deraileur with bolt sheared off in hanger
Cable inner & outer

A 2.5 mile up hill walk home with a tailwind :wink:
am I bitter..? nope not in the slightest, it's a lovely day so i'm off for another bike ride hopefully a little longer this time.

Forget n+1, n+6 is where it's at 8)
Rule #5 // Harden The Feck Up.
Rule #9 // If you are out riding in bad weather, it means you are a badass. Period.
Rule #12 // The correct number of bikes to own is n+1.
Rule #42 // A bike race shall never be preceded with a swim and/or followed by a run.

Comments

• That poor bike! :cry:
  • rolf_f
    rolf_f Posts: 16,015
    itboffin wrote:
    Now i'm no expert but i'm pretty sure a rear derailleur shouldn't look like that :lol:

Yeah, looks like your limit screws are misadjusted :lol:

Seriously though - can you not fix the chain at least with the spare links?
    Faster than a tent.......
  • ex-pat scot
    ex-pat scot Posts: 939
    You'll find that (hopefully) it's just the derailleur pivot bolt that's sheared.

You can get replacements - in alloy if necessary from Tastybolts or Tibolts (eBay) for much less than the price of a new rear mech.

As for the cables - why replace?