Shimano M575 Brake Problems

bugmonkey
bugmonkey Posts: 27
edited February 2012 in MTB workshop & tech
My Pinnacle Coldharbour came with Shimano M575 brakes. Since I got the bike around a month ago (ridden about 150 miles) I've been having issues with the front brake. From the start stopping power hasn't been great (after bedding in the pads) and the lever was really spongy. I bled it and took loads of air out of the system, which made things much better, however over time they got worse again - to the point where I could pull back the level until it touched the bar and they still didn't really bite. I'm new to bleeding brakes so tried again and removed loads more air. I also checked the lever, cable and calliper to see if there were any small leaks but didn't see any.

Over time the brakes have become spongy again and during a ride after work on Friday I noticed some oil was coming out of the lever where the piston enters the housing. I'm guessing that there's something wrong with one of the seal which means oil leaks out and air gets sucked in when the brakes are operated.

Does anyone have any ideas on a fix? Is it possible to replace the seals in the lever?

The back brake works fine, not amazing stopping power, but at least it's consistent and isn't getting worse.

Cheers,

Neil

Comments

• nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    new bike then take it back. sounds like the seals have gone.
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
    Parktools :?:SheldonBrown
  • peter413
    peter413 Posts: 5,120
    Need new seals.

If you don't feel too confident about this, give it to your LBS
  • SWounds like it is a leak, if fluid is coming out. If it is only a month old get it fixed/replaced under warranty.
  • bugmonkey
    bugmonkey Posts: 27
    Thanks, unfortunately I thought that might be the answer.