Worst assembly by an LBS ever? Named and shamed!

2»

Comments

• kelsen
    kelsen Posts: 2,003
    rjsterry wrote:
    Agent57 wrote:
    only to be told they'd never heard of 'ISIS' :? ... pretty fundamental stuff if you ask me ...

I've never heard of ISIS, and I've been riding bikes for nearly 40 years. =/

Similar to Shimano Octalink BBs - i.e. an 8-splined axle end, rather than square taper.

Shimano?
  • El Capitano
    El Capitano Posts: 6,401
    spev11 wrote:
    Wheelies

Interesting story...A few years ago, I had a Scott Expert Racing stolen from my shed. Target hit, didn't take any other bike. :(

It was replaced by my Insurance company with a Giant XTC, from Wheelies in Swansea. Now the bike was delivered "ready to ride". I had to fix the following upon receipt of the bike:

Tighten saddle/seapost clamp.
    Remove the grips that had been cut to make room for the bar ends and fit new ones. This involved moving the brake and shifter levers to accommodate this.

Granted this only took a few minutes, and wasn't really a major issue, but IMO, they were cutting corners (or in this case 1/2 an inch of grip). I did go over the rest of the bike with a fine toothcomb to make sure nothing else was amis.

Now, this was my first MTB with disk brakes. I read the instructions carefully about bedding in the pads and went for a quick test ride. And this is where I ended up joining the original MBUK forum as the brakes didn't work. Yes, the pads moved towards the rotor and made contact when you pulled the brake lever, but it didn't slow the bike down much. After reading about how wonderful disk brakes were supposed to be compared to V brakes, I was a little confused. Until someone (I believe it was Nicklouse) asked if the pads could have become contaminated. The whole bike had been sprayed with WD40 before it was shipped to me. I know it was WD40, by the lovely smell... :oops:

Pads changed, rotors cleaned, brakes became awesome instantly.
  • joshtp