First ever bike commute - what I learnt...

AdamJ85
AdamJ85 Posts: 14
edited June 2010 in Commuting chat
Well I've survived my first day commuting by bike, a total of probably 30 miles or so (?) down the cycle path between Bristol and Bath! It generally went well, though definite room for improvement, and a few lessons learnt:

1. My back pack isn't big enough. I couldn't take my lunch in today as I realised I didn't have enough room once I put a towel in...

2. My back pack was too heavy. I tried to take way too much stuff and my back was really aching at times. Probably got away with it this time, but don't want to do that again as I imagine it could cause serious problems in the long term.

3. Concentrate!! I'm still a novice and a bit shakey, I drifted off for a second and realised I was straying towards the other side of the path - I realised just in time to see the road bike rocketing towards me...

4. Not all yoofs are bad! :) Saw a kid dragging his mate behind his bike on a skateboard and thought "oh no, here we go, it's the cycle path, they're bound to stone me to death any second.." (ok so I wasn't quite that cynical!). Anyway, instead they moved politely aside and one said "Nice bike mate" (I'm 95% certain he wasn't being sarcastic..).

5. I need practice changing gears. I tried changing gear to go up a big hill, ended up selecting something like 1 and 7 and my chain came off...I had read about changing gear properly last night. Clearly I didn't implement the theory very well. (Though I was also wondering whether this was entirely my fault or whether I should be worried about the bike - how easily do chains normally come off..?)

6. Headwinds are evil.

7 Cross-winds are evil.

That's probably enough for one day. I'm off to research racks and panniers or some other more comfortable form of luggage... :)

Comments

• sarajoy
    sarajoy Posts: 1,675