Talent ID

Aquiline
Aquiline Posts: 4
edited August 2010 in Track
Hello,

I work in a school and a group of us went to Newport and tried out lots of activities, one of them being track cycling. Two of our children were superstars and the professional cycle man/coach said I should get the two of them into a cycling club as they have real potential. However I am stuck! I don't know whether they should join a road racing group, or specific track racing group. They also don't have bikes, can't get to Newport Velodrome easily (we are in Plymouth and we went up on a minibus) and I don't know what to do or where to start. First of all, is there any sort of funding available for this sort of thing? i.e. getting a road/track worthy bike for them, and hooking them up with a coach? Secondly, does anyone know of any good coaches or clubs these boys could link up with? Thirdly if they make it big time, as their mentor and agent, is 20% of their income too much to ask, and is it cheeky to ask them to get me in the Velodrome in 2012??

If anyone can give me a hand with this I'd be eternally grateful. I'd rather these kids got into something useful rather than descend into drugs and drink like a lot of the youngsters in this neck of the woods.

Comments

• jrduquemin
    jrduquemin Posts: 791
    There are plenty of shops in the Plymouth area. You should try them first off and see where you go from there. 20% does sound a bit high considering you haven't even made any enquiries. Also, the olympics are only 2 years away and the track riders would already be qualifying to get onto the team...
    2010 Lynskey R230
    2013 Yeti SB66
  • jibberjim
    jibberjim Posts: 2,810
    jrduquemin wrote:
    Also, the olympics are only 2 years away and the track riders would already be qualifying to get onto the team...

There's plenty of development riders for 2016 around, probably more than 2012 (since it's a pyramid)