London 2 Brighton Advice Please

tatman69
tatman69 Posts: 176
edited June 2010 in Commuting chat
I am doing the L2B a week on Sunday and as this is my first time I was after some advice/experiences of others.

My start time is 9am..from I have heard its going to be very very slow for the first 10 miles, is that correct?

IIf so whats the chances of getting off earlier if I turn up say 7am?

Any other advice welcome ta

Comments

• Bikequin
    Bikequin Posts: 402
    I applied for a 6am start and got given an 8.30am start which I'm incredibly annoyed about - :evil: and the pack which I was sent as states explicitly that you won't be allowed to start earlier.

Yes the first 10 miles or so is very slow getting out of London and there's a couple of hills (or slight inclines) on narrow lanes that you might have to end up walking up due to everyone else walking.

Some aspects of the ride are a right PITA, however if the suns shining its a great day out - its nice to cycle on close roads and also nice to see so many people out on their bikes for a good cause.
    You'll not see nothing like the mighty Quin.
  • tatman69
    Ok thanks so if I starting at 9 (I usually average around 15mph on my MTB with knobllies and am changinfg to slicks for the day) Im looking at probably 5 - 6 hours if the start is going to be very slow?

I also applied for the 6am start time.....am looking forward to it should be a fun day.
  • CiB
    CiB Posts: 6,098
    Have a squint at this thread over on the other place.

http://www.bikeradar.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=12705921
  • navt
    navt Posts: 374
    It is going to be slow for the first 60 miles!!! 27,000 cyclist down narrow country lanes doesn't work. But they atmosphere is great. If you're out for a fun day, then you will enjoy it. Just don't be expecting to set any PBs.