Mountain Bike commuting tyres?

AdamJ85
AdamJ85 Posts: 14
edited June 2010 in Commuting chat
Hi,

I have a hardtail mountain bike that I want to use to commute into work (along a mostly smooth cycle path) and think that i need to get new tyres as the current ones are huge knobbly things that look better suited to a monster truck..

I'm new to cycling though so really don't know what I'm doing and would appreciate any tyre suggestions..

My current tyres are 26 x 2.1. I'm looking for a quick tyre, but am not too confident a cyclist yet so would also want a decent amount of grip, so there's a bit of a trade-off there. Obviously the more durable the better too!

Thanks! :)

Comments

• whyamihere
    whyamihere Posts: 7,714
    Is the cycle path tarmac or hard packed dirt?

If it's dirt, my dad has these. He mostly rides canal towpaths etc, and says they're very good.

For tarmac, try these. 1.5" will be faster, but you'll feel the bumps more.
  • wheezee
    wheezee Posts: 461
    I use Schwalbe Big Apples. Various sizes to choose from, a bit heavy, but "fast rolling" (I think the expression is).
  • nich
    nich Posts: 888
    I tend to put such tyres on my MTB as I find it a drain cycling to my favourite spots on knobbly ones.

Currently using Continental City Contact (26x1.75)

http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/Mode ... elID=35796

Cheap, and each tyre comes with a free inner tube.

They are fast rolling and quiet. I've used them a fair bit in the woods, on gravel paths and un-made roads, and in the wet - no problemo :)

They are mainly suited to road/cycle paths, but they are fun for the woods too ;)
  • Paul E
    Paul E Posts: 2,052
    I used Conti Town and Country, my old commute was 95% canal tow path though but they rolled well enough on road too.
  • AdamJ85
    Thanks for the quick replies!

To answer Whyamihere's question - the cycle path is almost all tarmac, though hard packed dirt in a few places.