SPDs, MTBs and clipless moments

beverick
beverick Posts: 3,461
edited June 2010 in MTB general
I've been using SPDs for 10 years on the road bikes with few 'moments' but, to be honest, I'm pretty fed up with taking unplanned sideways dismounts.

So what's the general advice/best practice regarding SPDs and MTBs.

Do 'experienced' MTBers use SPDs, shun them, keep the cleats loose enough to pull out with minimal pressure or what?

Bob

Comments

• RealMan
    RealMan Posts: 2,166
    Basically you just have to get used to them. Learn to track stand, then you will have a lot less "moments" as your balance will be better, and you won't have to put your feet down as much.
    beverick wrote:
    Do 'experienced' MTBers use SPDs, shun them, keep the cleats loose enough to pull out with minimal pressure or what?

I can see this starting up an argument or two, but the only answer is yes, they do use them.

I can't remember the last time I had a moment. Years ago. (Cue one later today, I'm sure..)
  • cee
    cee Posts: 4,553
    beverick wrote:

Probably best to set them quite loose to begin with...being able to get your feet out in a hurry happens on the trail more often than it does on the road...

Then tighten them up to suit.

'Experienced' mountainbikers realise that they should ride what they prefer...and one is not better than the other. This wasn't always true...but flat pedals and shoes have gotten a load better...levelling the playing field somewhat.

I keep saying this...I have one fried who breaks his srist every time he wears flats.
    I have another who smashes his elbow every time he wears spuds.
    Whenever I see an adult on a bicycle, I believe in the future of the human race.

H.G. Wells.
  • paulbox
    paulbox Posts: 1,203
    I've been using SPD's for about 17 years now, simply couldn't switch back to flats now. I do keep them pretty loose for easy exit, as long as they keep my feet attached when pedalling that's good enough for me.