Flight 04 alpine hub

stockylocky
stockylocky Posts: 5
edited May 2010 in Commuting chat
Hi all - anyone else got a ridgeback flight 04? I have the 2010 model and have just noticed a noise coming from the hub particlarly from gear 4 up .... This happens when I restart pedalling after freewheeling, is this normal ? Cheers alan

Comments

• nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    and the hub is a?

most likely the cable tension needs a tweek.
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
    Parktools :?:SheldonBrown
  • sorry the hub is a Shimano Alfine 8spd.... sorry im new to them so just wondered if anyone was in the know...
  • itsbruce
    itsbruce Posts: 221
    Is it the SG-S500 or SG-S501? (The model number should be printed on the hub). The older model is known to be a bit noisy; the newer model should be practically silent.

You might want to check that the shifter cable is properly seated and that the tension on the shifter cable is correct. To do the latter, put the shifter into 4th, then check the underside of the cassette, on the right outer face; you should see two yellow marks, close to where the shifter cable runs along the edge of the cassette. If they are not precisely lined up, you can use the barrel adjuster on the shifter to move one of the marks until they are aligned.
  • nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
    Parktools :?:SheldonBrown
  • Roastie
    Roastie Posts: 1,968
    edited May 2010
    What itsbruce and nicklouse said. Also, another good source for troubleshooting info is http://hubstripping.wordpress.com/.
  • Roastie
    Roastie Posts: 1,968