Thinking about a new bike....!

miss notax
miss notax Posts: 2,572
edited May 2010 in Women
Hello :D

After a fab weekend riding in Wales, I am considering replacing my lovely Santa Cruz Superlight with something else (and possibly a female specific frame). The problem is that I have no idea where to start!

How do I find out about local demo days, and will they have a range of ladies bikes too? What should I be looking at for a light xc bike? I love the feel of the Superlight, but I bought it second hand when I started riding and didn't choose it on it's merits (just because it was good value and I needed a bike!). Several years later I have fallen in love with MTBing and it might be time to be a bit more selective.

I also have no idea about choosing forks etc - how do I know how much travel I need? My riding is classic xc riding with the odd trip to Alps thrown in, but i'm never going to be doing massive jumps etc. I love technical riding but i'm certainly no downhill rider!!!

I need to keep an eye on the budget, but I am more interested in buying a great bike and getting good value for money rather than keeping a specific spend in mind.

Any thoughts / comments would be appreciated!
Life is not measured by the number of breaths you take, but by the number of moments that take your breath away....

Riding a gorgeous ano orange Turner Burner!

Sponsor the CC2CC at http://www.justgiving.com/cc2cc

Comments

• nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    what would you like to change on the Superlite?
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
    Parktools :?:SheldonBrown
  • miss notax
    nicklouse wrote:
    what would you like to change on the Superlite?