First time riding with SPDs!!

drewcole81
drewcole81 Posts: 528
edited May 2010 in MTB general
Hello All,

Somthing i've been meaning to do for years is get some SPD shoes to go with the pedals i've had since I bought my bike.

I've always used DMR V12s since I started riding, but I thought why not give it a go!

So I bought some Simano shoes last week and went for a ride the other day with them... I think it will take some getting used to as it feels weird to start with, i'm heading to the Peaks in a couple of weeks so will see how i'll get on with them there... I think i'll put my DMRs in the boot just incase!

What do you think of your SPDs if you ride with them?

HAve you ever wanted to try them out?
....DaZeD aNd CoNfUsEd....

Comments

• miss notax
    miss notax Posts: 2,572
    They make such a difference, in my opinion you won't regret changing to them! Riding uphill is much easier clipped in.

Do prepare yourself for a few comedy moments though..... There will almost certainly be a few times when you don't unclip fast enough and fall over, or unclip the wrong foot etc etc :lol:
    Life is not measured by the number of breaths you take, but by the number of moments that take your breath away....

Riding a gorgeous ano orange Turner Burner!

Sponsor the CC2CC at http://www.justgiving.com/cc2cc
  • cgarossi
    cgarossi Posts: 729
    You will fall off.

But the frequency of having an 'SPD moment' will reduce as you get used to clipping in and out.

It's second nature for me now. Clipping out that is, not falling off. :D
  • Anonymous
    Anonymous Posts: 79,667
    I rode with SPDs for several years, before deciding that I just didn't like them. I didn't notice any real advantage on them, apart from being able to quickly pick up and replant the back end if the bike was drifting.
    Oh, and I was also told by my physio last year that I should stay clear of SPDs since I dislocated my knee.