Cycling in work clothes

Emmett52
Emmett52 Posts: 3
edited May 2010 in Commuting chat
Hi all, cycling newbie here :) (just realised i had this posted in workshop by mistake :roll: )

I've recently decided to buy a bike (Hybrid Giant CRS 3.0 2010, im picking it up tomorrow) for my commute to work which is 3.5 miles each way, with some steep inclines in last mile of commute to work. im planning on cycling my commute on saturday (im not working) to see how it goes

I currently walk this commute dailly and also play an hour of footbal (soccer) 3 x a week for an hour so I feel I have a reasonable standard of fitness

Question is, how feasible is it to cycle to work each day in my work clothes? (our work has a smart casual policy, ie shirt, no tie) I plan on showering each morn before setting off as we have no shower facilities in our workplace,

any one here do this, or do you all take work clothes with you (or leave clothes at work) and change at work?

Ive been reading this forum for a week or so now, and im excited about catching the cycling bug (i'm already planning to buy a road bike in next years cycle2work scheme!!)

Many Thanks for any responses! :D

Comments

• antfly
    antfly Posts: 3,276
    It`s totally feasible, you should be able to do it without breaking sweat.
    Smarter than the average bear.
  • davis
    davis Posts: 2,506
    3.5 miles is doable without producing a bucket of sweat, it really isn't far, as you know.

You should be ok, take it easy on the way in.

But, yes, it's always easiest to leave as much as possible at work. You may wish to consider panniers full of clothes on Monday, and taking them home on Friday, but it really isn't helped by lack of showers.

Good luck!
    Sometimes parts break. Sometimes you crash. Sometimes it’s your fault.
  • roger_merriman
    roger_merriman Posts: 6,165
    I ride between 9 and 10 mile round trip to work, very easy to end up non sweaty.

just pop the bike into low gears for the steep hills.