Insurance for bike

sharp910sh
sharp910sh Posts: 90
edited May 2010 in Commuting chat
I know there are many threads otu there, but can't find anything good for me. well I want to buy teh specialized allez 16. But i woun't buy it till I have insurance. I will be basically using the bike to cummute to work, 15 minute journey. I will also park my bikeat the train station, for say less than 24 hours, more like 20 hours. I live in shared accommodation.

So I duno, what to do. Many of these insurance companies say you can only leave your bike for 12 hours at a time in public. I am also a student.

I'm getting natwest student contents insurance for my possesions. It doesn't say anything about not leaving the bike in public for 12 hours and what not.It does however say parts are not insuranced, if the frame is not stolen. So I'm guessing if someone steals my handbars, I will get nothing. I'm buying the kryptonite NY 3000 U lock, which is gold rated. I also have a old U lock for my wheels.

what is the best option. I live in guildford. which is a nice area, but theifs still lurk around.

Comments

• Aidy
    Aidy Posts: 2,015
    For a 15 minute trip to the station, just buy a cheap hack bike and a decent lock.
  • sharp910sh
    Aidy wrote:
    For a 15 minute trip to the station, just buy a cheap hack bike and a decent lock.

I shall leave my bike at the train station for 20 hours, and at work for 9 hours each day. I meant I will be riding my bike for 15 minutes to work, every day.
  • sharp910sh
    anyone?
  • unixnerd
    unixnerd Posts: 2,864
    I agree, get a cheap bike you won't miss if it's nicked. Look on ebay or gumtree and don't spend over 50 quid, you'll be surprised what's out there.

Save the nice bike for the weekends ;-)
    http://www.strathspey.co.uk - Quality Binoculars at a Sensible Price.
    Specialized Roubaix SL3 Expert 2012, Cannondale CAAD5,
    Marin Mount Vision (1997), Edinburgh Country tourer, 3 cats!
  • lost_in_thought