clipless pedals!

darrena8
darrena8 Posts: 74
edited May 2010 in MTB beginners
Hi,i just purchased some of these and bought a pair of specialized shoes.
I've never used clipless pedals before but though i'd give them a bash as i heard they make a big difference.I commute a few times a week and do a bit off road stuff...

I fitted them tonight and iam finding them very tricky to get my feet hooked in,i did manage to get them both in and had a little spin round the block,got my feet out no problem with a little twist,does it just take time to get good with them?

your thoughts and advice please guys
cheers

Darren

Comments

• diy
    diy Posts: 6,473
    Depending on the type e.g. SPD you can slacken the binding screws until you get used to them. Also worth getting the multi release clip, which unclips more naturally. But yes it takes time and the loss of a fair amount of skin before you get used to them.
  • darrena8
    darrena8 Posts: 74
    yeah mate there shimano spd's,i take it its the actual pedal you can slacken?
  • kaytronika
    kaytronika Posts: 580
    There's usually a tiny screw in front of the plate where you engage the cleat.

Loosen that a bit and try it like that.

They do take a lot of practice, as I recall, but after a while you won't want to be without them.

I've just ordered a new set so I'll be learning all over again.
    --
    '09 Carrera Fury
    '94 GT Timberline FS
    '89 Saracen Tufftrax
  • rf6
    rf6 Posts: 323
    It does sound like you need to slacken off the pedals. Maybe worth firing a bit of oil through them, they may have dried up a bit if stored for a while. They will make a big difference to your ride in terms of feel and efficiency, so stick with them.
  • Salsa
    Salsa Posts: 753
    It takes a while until you learn how to clip in/out without thinking. A friend of mine just got them & I was watching him yesterday trying 20+ times to clip in :lol: