Hardrock for XC?

rockmonkeysc
rockmonkeysc Posts: 14,774
edited May 2010 in XC and Enduro
I'm new to mountain biking. I recently bought myself a Specialized Hardrock disc, which seemed to fit me & my budget pretty well and the reviews I read were pretty good. I have modded it slightly now with RockShox Tora SL forks & Avid Juicy 3 brakes.
XC riding seems pretty appealing to me & should help with my weight loss & fitness issues! Will my bike be up to the job as I get fit and faster?
Should I keep upgrading componants as I find faults or break bits or should I leave it as it is until I can maybe afford a better bike? I do like my Hardrock at the moment & actually prefer it to my mates Rockhopper but that might be because I'm not very good or experienced.

Comments

• peter413
    peter413 Posts: 5,120
    Hardrock and Rockhopper frames are very good.

Upgrade as you wear/break components and then you may eventually decide to get a new bike.

The primary purpose of the Hardrock is XC so it will be perfect so to speak
  • willhart
    willhart Posts: 41
    Hi,

You might find some good XC racers would tell you the bike is not good enough, however I am in a similar situation to you and think it will be fine.

I am a keen mountain biker but I am quite "Heavy" and not that fit really. I do race, for the challenge and for fun but I am not currently competative in my age group.

A Hardrock is still a very nice bike and a big step up from a typical "Argos" Mountain Bike! Even though it is a lower model than the Rockhopper and Stumpy. Buying the more expensive bikes gives relatively small improvements in performance relative to the extra money, especially for us more average riders. A lot of the extra money goes on lighter wheight components rather than ones that dramatically improve performance, which I always think is a bit daft for me when I weigh 19 stone!