remove and replace Race Face Evolve Isis chainset

paulswilliams2
paulswilliams2 Posts: 137
edited May 2010 in MTB workshop & tech
Hi, went out on my P7 for the first time in 3 months friday. Phase 2 of Follow the Dog/ Cannock Chase. Brilliant, except for s****d BB.

Now, I am new to Isis, but tried to remove the Race Face crank today. However, my old stylee crank extractor doesn't work as there is nothing inside for it to push against. I have seen the new Park Universal tool that will do the job, but wanted to complete the job today, and am out of reach of a stocking LBS. Any advise on how to remove them?

2nd question. When I have removed them, and get the old BB out, I will need to replace at least the BB. My LBS was impressed that I managed to get 2 years out of my old race face BB, so I am thinking that ISIS is c**p. However, to replace ISIS, I will need new chainset, so whats the general consensus as a replacement for ~80 quid, or should I just replace the BB like for like and save for a good dedicated SS chainset in 6 months when the next BB is shagged..

I just want to ride my bike ;)

</rant>

Comments

• Oh, and if I replace with external shimano chainset / bb, I presume I need my frame facing - is this expensive?
  • nicklouse
    nicklouse Posts: 50,675
    you will need an ISIS end for your old puller or a new puller.

yes you will need it facing and new tools as well.
    "Do not follow where the path may lead, Go instead where there is no path, and Leave a Trail."
    Parktools :?:SheldonBrown
  • what you need is the self extracting nut combo ... the one that Orange also seemed to forget to fit to my Raceface crank set ...

No puller or crank extractor is going to move it. I know, I bought loads of them as I was given the same advice as you.
    Chain reaction have them and they're not very expensive
    Cotic Soul
    Cotic BFe
    Cotic Road Rat
    Orange Patriot (2006 version)
  • nicklouse