Newbie help - opinions on specialized Globe Vienna 3?

meli89
meli89 Posts: 6
edited May 2010 in Commuting chat
I'm a newbie to biking, and after picking up a mountain bike from a car boot sale for £10 which I have been commuting to university with and to town or friends houses, I have decided to get a better bike as that bike (diamondback horizon) seems to be very heavy and slow, with difficulty going uphill and other bikes just zoom ahead of me!

Doing some research, I have decided I would like a hybrid bike as I will use the bike mainly for commuting but would also like to use it for bike trips along country lanes etc

I am a 5ft4 female, and my limit is around £300 and with this I have found two bikes within that price range that I quite like which are:

1. Specialized vita (2009) - online at £270 (specs: http://www.bestbikeproducts.com/product ... 2100&rs=gb)

2. Trek 7.1 FX (2010) - instore at £300 (specs: http://www.evanscycles.com/products/tre ... e-ec016502)

Just would like to ask what people thought of these and which would you recommend? Also if anyone has any other suggestions within my price range which doesn't have to be a hybrid but one good for commuting and also for use in country lanes, dirt paths etc.

Many thanks :)

Comments

• night_porter
    night_porter Posts: 888
    I think the Specialized is better specced and looks much nicer than the Trek (or the Carrera) but then I love the look of polished aluminium bikes so I may be biaised.

2 concerns would be buying a bike remotely if you are a newbie:

1) Making sure you get the right size bike for you.

2) Being able to assemble the bike correctly and ensure tuning of gears and brakes are correct before riding.

Even though it is free delivery if you could get to Hemel Hempstead to try the bike I would imagine it would be setup correctly and you would be sure it fitted you.